To;Local Electoral Boundary Committee

PJ Lynch, (Kiltubrid/Kilclare) Branch Fine Gael

Pauric Keane (Secretary)

Dear Boundary Committee,

Our branch members decided to submit a proposal in relation to the 2018 local electoral boundary review because of our disappointment with the 2013 recommendations that divided our parish area. Aghacashel, Kiltubrid and Keshcarrigan were placed within the Ballinamore MA while Leitrim and Gortnagullion formed part of the Ballinamore MA leaving our parish divided electorally. We are calling on your committee to review and change this anomaly and we respectfully propose the following;

We propose that Manorhamilton remain as a 6 seat area and that Ballinamore reduce to a 5 seat area with Carrick-on-Shannon increased to 7.

Please see below the configuration of DEDs within the electoral areas;

Carrick-on-Shannon	7 Seats		
Carrick-on-Shannon	Annaduff	225	
Carrick-on-Shannon	Barnameenagh	147	
Carrick-on-Shannon	Breandrum	253	
Carrick-on-Shannon	Bunnybeg	153	
Carrick-on-Shannon	Carrick-on-Shannon	4,080	
Carrick-on-Shannon	Drumard	206	
Carrick-on-Shannon	Drumdoo	303	
Carrick-on-Shannon	Drumod	869	
Carrick-on-Shannon	Drumreilly East	47	
Carrick-on-Shannon	Drumreilly West	120	
Carrick-on-Shannon	Drumshanbo	1,389	
Carrick-on-Shannon	Drumsna	685	
Carrick-on-Shannon	Gortnagullion	292	
Carrick-on-Shannon	Gowel	325	
Carrick-on-Shannon	Keshcarrigan	489	
Carrick-on-Shannon	Kiltubbrid	153	
Carrick-on-Shannon	Leitrim	1,224	
Carrick-on-Shannon	Moher	221	
Carrick-on-Shannon	Mohill	1,258	
Carrick-on-Shannon	Yugan	222	
Carrick-on-Shannon	Aghacashel	77	
	Total.	12,738	2.20%
Ballinamore	5 Seats		
Ballinamore	Aghavas	322	
Ballinamore	Ballinamore	1,107	
Ballinamore	Beihy	332	

Ballinamore	Carrigallen East	300		
Ballinamore	Carrigallen West	563		
Ballinamore	Castlefore	260		
Ballinamore	Cattan	237		
Ballinamore	Cloone	336		
Ballinamore	Cloverhill	345		
Ballinamore	Corrala	246		
Ballinamore	Corriga	142		
Ballinamore	Drumreilly North	158		
Ballinamore	Drumreilly South	146		
Ballinamore	Fenagh	392		
Ballinamore	Garadice	530		
Ballinamore	Gortermone	270		
Ballinamore	Greaghglass	260		
Ballinamore	Keeldra	179		
Ballinamore	Killygar	126		
Ballinamore	Lisgillock	186		
Ballinamore	Newtowngore	242		
Ballinamore	Oughteragh	91		
Ballinamore	Rinn	370		
Ballinamore	Riverstown	240		
Ballinamore	Rowan	247		
Ballinamore	Stralongford	72		
Ballinamore	Roosky	616		
Ballinamore	Cashel	170		
	Total	8,485		-4.60%
Manorhamilton	6 Seats			
Manorhamilton	Aghalateeve	67		
Manorhamilton	Aghanlish	156		
Manorhamilton	Aghavoghill	45		
Manorhamilton	Gubacreeny	736		
Manorhamilton	Kinlough	983		
Manorhamilton	Melvin	166		
Manorhamilton	Tullaghan	699		
Manorhamilton	Arigna	23		
Manorhamilton	Ballaghameehan	195		
Manorhamilton	Belhavel	239		
Manorhamilton	Cloonclare	178		
Manorhamilton	Cloonlogher	285		
Manorhamilton	Drumahaire	1,524		
Manorhamilton		105	- 	
Manornaniilon	Drumkeeran	465		

Manorhamilton	Glenade	172
Manorhamilton	Glenaniff	167
Manorhamilton	Glenboy	239
Manorhamilton	Glencar	256
Manorhamilton	Glenfarn	132
Manorhamilton	Killanummery	374
Manorhamilton	Killarga	69
Manorhamilton	Kiltyclogher	207
Manorhamilton	Lurganboy	415
Manorhamilton	Mahanagh	296
Manorhamilton	Manorhamilton	1,892
Manorhamilton	Munakill	169
Manorhamilton	Sramore	390
Manorhamilton	St. Patrick's	125
	Totals	10,821 10680 1.30%
	Total Population	32,044
	Per member	1,780

We propose that Drumshanbo, Kiltubrid and Ballinaglera areas are included in the one electoral area as there are many connections between these 3 communities in particular around schools, sport and road linkages. The Leitrim DED must be part of these areas as it includes 3 parishes, Carrick-on-Shannon, Drumshanbo and Kiltubrid and taking no. 6 into account in your terms of reference we believe these 3 areas should be part of one electoral area and allow for <u>local and community identities</u> and linkages as well as natural boundaries.

Drumreilly east and West & Yugan is effectively the parish of Ballinaglera and is currently part of the Ballinamore MA however it is worth pointing out that Ballinamore is divided with Ballinaglera by the Sliabh an Iariann mountain and has natural linkages to Drumshanbo and Carrick-on-Shannon so we are again proposing to transfer this area in the Carrick-on-Shannon.

Rinn and Beihy areas are part of the Gortlettragh parish and are in the Ballinamore MA currently while the other half of the parish is in the Carrick-on-Shannon area (Cattan and Keeldra) so again this helps unite the 4 parts of the parish into the one electoral area. The addition of Roosky and Cashel areas into the Ballinamore MA joins this parish area together with Gortlettragh and allows the numbers to balance and within the variance as allowed under the terms of reference.

Area	Seats	Population	+- variance
B allinamore	<mark>5</mark>	8,485	<mark>-4.6%</mark>
Carrick-on-Shannon	<mark>7</mark>	12,738	2.2%
M anorhamilton	<mark>6</mark>	10,821	<mark>1.3%</mark>
		32,044	

We respectfully ask that you consider carefully our proposal. P. Keane (Secretary)